Join Us!

We are the local chapter of a national organization, the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), the primary goals of which are the defense of academic freedom and tenure and the promotion of shared governance in the academy.

All current members of (national) AAUP are eligible to join the local chapter.


Dues for our chapter are $10 per academic year, and membership is open to all CSU faculty members at any rank or status. To join the local chapter, you also must be a member of AAUP national.

You may pay chapter dues (cash only, please) to any of our officers.

  • President, Dr. Mark Watson, Associate Professor of Art
  • Vice President, Dr. Carol White, Associate Professor of History
  • Treasurer, Dr. Kathryn Pratt Russell, Professor of English
  • Secretary, Dr. Virginia Bonner, Professor of Film Studies


What is the AAUP and what can it do for you?

Do you desire to have a voice in faculty governance?

Have you ever wondered how your salary and other compensation compare to other professionals in your field across the country?

Are you worried about current state legislative discussions on education using business metaphors that refer to students as clients and education as a product?

Do you feel that you have no options or means of redress within your department, college, or university?

Are you content with your current situation, but desire to insure its continuance?

Are you bothered by the current trend to hire adjuncts at low wages and no benefits rather than tenure track faculty?

Are you interested in issues in higher education?


Blog at

Up ↑